AgileCoachCamp Germany – position paper

Posted on February 18, 2010

0


I’ll be attending AgileCoachCamp Germany at the end of April and had to write a position paper as the entry fee. This is the first time I’ve had to write one but it did make me think about what I expected from the weekend, so I kinda like the idea. Anyway, I’ve put it here for your perusal and so I can find it again in the future.

What’s your experience coaching teams toward being Agile? Late last year I certified as a ScrumMaster, and it was during this course that I noticed a lot of similarity between what the trainers were doing with how I worked with colleagues. This lead me to explore the idea of coaching as a career and I was lucky enough to move to a team, shortly after this, who asked me to coach/mentor them in the process side of Agile. The last 4 months has been a real eye-opener for me, working in a resistant organisation with an enthusiastic team.

What do you plan to learn / explore at this conference? I hope to learn from other coaches experiences, particularly any common challenges and the lessons others have learned to avoid/resolve these. Aside from the learning experience I hope to meet some like-minded people and have a beer or two.

How do you plan to contribute? As a new coach I have a lot of enthusiasm, curiosity and questions which I hope will be of interest to more than myself. A couple of things I’d like to talk about/workshop are introducing Agile to an organisation and how to improve a team’s collaboration.

It looks like it will be a good weekend talking about Agile, meeting new people, and maybe some therapy over a beer; of course, you could turn up just to shoot me.

Posted in: coaching